Yellow Squash

The summer garden is in full production. Cherry tomatoes have been producing for quite awhile now. We’ve done a few taste tests among the 4 varieties of cherry tomatoes, and Yellow Pear is definitely not the winner this year. The favorite seems to be Orange Paruche, but people really like Sungold as well. Both are very sweet, and their taste is similar. The Sweet 100 is more tart, but very flavorful. Yellow Pear has a strange texture, and not a great flavor this year. The plant is struggling as well. Yellow Pear is the variety that’s usually towering over the others and producing huge quantities throughout the summer.

Here's our first tomato taste test, about a month ago.

Here’s our first tomato taste test, about a month ago.

The tomatoes, squash and beans are all growing huge.  As usual, I’ve planted everything too close together. It becomes a struggle to walk over and around everything, but I always tend to overdo the density of planting.  This year I also have some pumpkins added to the mix.  They sprouted/volunteered where I planted other things that look and grow like them (Armenian cucumbers, cantaloupe, squash).  I usually pull up any volunteer pumpkins in the garden, and I only let them grow back behind the compost pile.  This year they looked too much like the cantaloupe and cucumbers.  I didn’t know they were pumpkins until they started producing.  

The wire fence is getting much more use than it’s ever gotten before.  Everything wants to climb on it this year — scarlet runner beans, poamoho beans, Armenian Cucumbers, cantaloupe.  Anywhere I can get things off the ground, I’m stringing pumpkin and tomato vines on it too.

June 2014 Garden Pics 001 (Medium)

Squash is producing pretty heavily for the past few weeks.  I got some with an oval shape.  I don’t know if it’s a different variety from the same seed packets, or if they’ve been cross-pollinated with something else nearby.

June 2014 Squash and Tomatoes 001 (Medium)

These are the oval ones. Does anyone know if this is a specific variety of squash? The taste and texture is the same as the regular long ones.

Squash is one of the “big plants” in the garden.  They’re not tall, but the leaves are huge.  Always make sure you plant them far enough away from smaller plants.  I often have to cut back some of the squash leaves because they’re shading other plants too much.

This is the palm stump that I cut down a few years ago.  The inside part began to decompose and sink pretty quickly, forming a perfect pot for small plants.  I’ve been using it to grow radishes for a few years.  I’ve added more soil as the inside continues to hollow out and sink, so this year I decided to grow a squash plant.

This squash plant is turning out to be the most productive one by far this year.

This one is turning out to be more productive than any of the squash growing in the ground this year.

HERE’S SOME GOOD ADVICE ABOUT TRIMMING/CUTTING OFF SQUASH LEAVES:  ALWAYS USE HEAVY GLOVES. Squash leaves and vines have tiny thorns all over them, and they’re somewhat irritating to your hands. It’s tempting to try to rip off old leaves with your bare fingers, like you do with other plants.  

Sometimes I wear gardening gloves over the rubber gloves.  Then I can take the heavy gloves off when I need to plant seeds, tie up vines, or do other tasks that require more dexterity.

With squash, it’s always better to put on some gloves first.  I’ve been stuck by the thorns many times. 

SOME GOOD ADVICE ABOUT HARVESTING SQUASH:  ALWAYS USE A KNIFE OR CLIPPERS.  When you try to bend or twist the stems off, it’s easy to tear off the end of the squash or rip the vine.

Yes, I'm using rubber gloves to harvest.  When I'm picking the squash, I'm not grabbing and touching the leaves, so I'm not getting my hands scratched.

Any small kitchen knife or clippers will do.  Heavy gloves aren’t as important when you’re harvesting.  When you’re picking the squash, you’re not grabbing the leaves with your fingers.

More on this year’s tomatoes in a future post.  

 

 

About gardeningla

I don't have a green thumb! You don't have a green thumb! I've never liked the concept of "green thumb" because it implies that some people have an innate ability to grow plants and other people don't. So forget about your thumb color and follow me while I show you the things I do to produce a bountiful year-round harvest!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yellow Squash

  1. David says:

    Thanks Vince. Good advice with the gloves.

Leave a Reply

